Login Register

Lindley community group helps Forget Me Not Children's Hospice

Celebration Wall tribute at hospice

Pictured at the celebration wall (picture left to right) are Cllr Cahal Burke (Chair of Lindley Community Group) Gaynor Bearder (Forget Me Not Children's Hospice), Jane Potter (Lindley Community Group) and Martyn Cooper-Jones (Lindley Community Group).

The Forget Me Not Children’s Hospice has added Lindley Community Group to its celebration wall.

It’s a “Thank you” for the £1,000 donation it made following last year’s Lindley 10K and Fun Run and in recognition of the cash donated to the hospice by participants in the charity running events.

People who want to support the work of the hospice can pay to have a block engraved with something memorable or special from their lives. People can find out more at: <a href = 'http://www.forgetmenotchild.co.uk/wall-of-celebration'>http://www.forgetmenotchild.co.uk/wall-of-celebration</a>

Lindley 10k and Fun Run is happening again this summer on Sunday, June 29. People wanting to take part should visit <a href = 'www.lindley10k.org.uk'>www.lindley10k.org.uk</a>. This year the official charity is Whizz-kids which provides disabled children and young people with vital mobility equipment, opportunities and training but people can raise money for any cause they would like to choose.

Clr Cahal Burke, who chairs the Lindley Community Group which organises Lindley 10k and Fun Run and Lindley Carnival said: “It’s a real honour for Lindley Community Group’s name to be on the Hospice’s Celebration Wall.

“The 10k and Fun Run organisers were delighted to be able to donate over £1,000 to support the hospice’s work which is so important to many local children and their families. If people are looking for an interesting way to support the hospice, they should consider paying for a block in the Hospice’s Celebration Wall – it’s a good way to lend support to a fantastic organisation.”


Doug Thomson
Huddersfield Town correspondent
Chris Roberts
Huddersfield Giants correspondent
Louise Cooper
Crime correspondent
Nick Lavigueur
Health Correspondent
Joanne Douglas
Local Government Correspondent
Linda Whitwam
Education Correspondent
Henryk Zientek
Business Correspondent
Martin Shaw
Mirfield Correspondent