Login Register

Shelley Village Hall extension named in tribute of hard working couple

A village hall’s new room has been officially launched and named in honour of a very important couple.

Simon Reevell MP opens the new room built at Shelley village hall, along with President of the Shelley Community Association, Ann Priestman (right) watched by (left to right), Alan Perkins of Bifffa, Community Association member, John Hoyle, Natasha Evans of Kirklees Council, Builder, Daryl Brook (COR), Community Association member, Tony Clifton and Project Manager, Ian Stevenson (COR).

Tory MP Simon Reevell opened the Mercer Room at Shelley Village Hall, completed last month after a £50,000 grant from the Biffa Award, a charity run by the multi-national waste firm. The association’s Ann Priestman, said the room was named in tribute to the hall founders, who had played a key part in building the facility.

She said: “Mr and Mrs Mercer were the prime movers in obtaining the old village school and turning it into Shelley village hall back in 1977. They also helped found the Community Association and other groups who still use the hall today - notably the Over 60s and the Dance Club. They were a lovely couple held in very great regard in the village.

“This room symbolises our belief in the future of the hall as a community provider,” she said. “It will provide a great stepping stone for new community groups to test the water and it will help the elderly and hard-of-hearing to access clubs in comfort; and with its loop system, rainwater storage tank and state-of-the-art audio visual equipment we are going into the future boldly! “The Mercer room is now available for hire - it is completely self-contained, accommodates 30 people and is equipped for audio-visual presentations so it makes an ideal meeting room as well as being multi-purpose. “It is also accessible for the disabled and has a loop system for the hard of hearing. “

Bookings: Bookings Secretary Sheila Tarbatt on 01484 604470.


Doug Thomson
Huddersfield Town correspondent
Chris Roberts
Huddersfield Giants correspondent
Louise Cooper
Crime correspondent
Nick Lavigueur
Health Correspondent
Joanne Douglas
Local Government Correspondent
Linda Whitwam
Education Correspondent
Henryk Zientek
Business Correspondent
Martin Shaw
Mirfield Correspondent