THE year was 1991 and the Examiner's new printing press based at Aspley had only been open for just over a year.
The editorial offices had also moved within the previous 12 months from its office on Ramsden Street opposite Huddersfield Town Hall to a large purpose-built building on Queen Street South.
In May 2011 we were on the move again with the editorial offices now on Pennine Business Park off Bradley Road in Bradley and we have a public office on John William Street opposite St George's Square in the town centre.
Click below to see our gallery of 1991 pictures.
But the paper's roots go right back to 1851 and it became a daily paper in 1871, making it one of Huddersfield's oldest businesses. To put it into context, Queen Victoria still had another 50 years to reign.
The town's population then was around 30,000 and is now about 250,000.
November 6, 1953 was a momentous day for the paper as it was the first time it had news on the front page. Up to then the front page only featured adverts and theatre listings.
In 1993 the Examiner was bought by Trinity International Holdings Ltd and ceased to be a family owned newspaper. Trinity went on to become Trinity Mirror PLC after it merged with the Mirror Group which included the Daily Mirror and the Sunday Mirror.
The paper is now printed at the huge Trinity Mirror site in Oldham but back in 1991 the Examiner's press in Aspley often attracted visitors such as these pupils from Deighton High School pupils. The visit was part of an Alternative Curriculum Experience - or ACE for short - and these youngsters were making their own newspaper.