AS an extra special bonus, an original 150-year-old minute book, which was originally thrown out in the rubbish in the 1940s, was also on public show for the very first time at last weekend’s Heritage Day.
The book relates to London & North West Railway Company’s ownership of the Huddersfield canals and gives a fascinating insight into life on the canal during the mid 19th Century.
Some of the fascinating facts recorded, include:
The death of a 2½- year-old child named Mary Ann Taylor in August 1857 from injuries received whilst playing near the canal at Golcar – she was crushed between the balance beam of the Low Lock Gate and the wall. An inquest had determined cause of death to be “accidental” with no blame attached to the company.
A recommendation that the canal house at Wool Road be divided into two cottages to accommodate work people, at an estimated cost of £30 (dated November 1855).
The sudden death from a heart attack of one of Messrs Kenworth’s boatmen in Standedge Tunnel while legging his boat through.
An order that a new tunnel boat be built at an estimated expense of £70 in July 1856.
A prolonged stoppage of the canal between Huddersfield and Ashton in May 1856 due to limited supply of water from the reservoirs.
An authorisation to lay gas piping in the canal warehouse at Marsden at an estimate of £3 – including 23 shillings for a meter (dated January 1857).
An authorisation to buy 10 English oak trees for lock gates and balance poles at an estimated expense of £20 (dated January 1857).