“Every village should have one...”
That was the remark by an impressed visitor, overheard by organisers, as Shelley Museum opened its doors for the first time on Saturday with a grand opening at the newly-converted building at the Methodist Chapel.
Months of work have gone into converting the previously dilapidated former vestry and boiler room into a Museum of Shelley.
It covers the history of Shelley and features an exhibition on schooling and education in the village.
Janet Metcalfe, on behalf of the organising committee, was full of praise for the work of the many volunteers involved in the project especially Carol Hurst for her input on the education exhibition.
The museum will be open on the first Saturday of the month from 10am to 1pm including this coming Saturday, July 2.
At the same time visitors can also visit the historic Grade II listed Chapel built in 1785 where John Wesley once preached.
People can also visit by appointment by calling Carol on 01484 603836 or Janet Metcalfe on 01484 608126.