GOLCAR will stage the Romida Twenty/20 Trophy tomorrow for the second season in succession, when they will be hoping for a different outcome to last year as they entertain Kirkburton.

Twelve months ago Golcar reached the final on their own ground only to be outplayed by Elland when they were bowled out for 113 and went on to lose by six wickets.

Undoubtedly, Steve Whitwam’s Swallow Lane side will be on a high after beating Delph & Dobcross in this week’s replay to set up the final showdown, and they may have home advantage – but opponents Burton have Greg Buckley!

The hard-hitting all-rounder took Golcar to the cleaners in last year’s final when he struck several lusty blows in a man-of-the-match-winning 53 when playing for Elland.

During the winter he and Hullen Edge teammate Ryan Robinson joined Kirkburton and together have played a major role.

Golcar certainly won’t need reminding of Buckley’s blistering power, which has seen him hammer 65 against Hoylandswaine, 32 against Emley, a match-winning 95 against Skelmanthorpe and a quick 45 in the semi-final at Honley.

However, Burton are not all about Buckley, as they have plenty of firepower in the side as well as strokeplayers, like club captain Matthew Wood, who stands aside in the shorter format of the game, handing over the skipper’s reins to Matt Garrety.

Robinson is another of the side’s big hitters, while young spinner Ollie Davidson also knows how to put bat to ball as he showed in the semi-final at Honley when clattering several huge boundaries in a top score of 48 (three sixes and four fours) which came off just 29 balls.

Golcar too have their fair share of ‘big-hitters’ not least being Craig Ruscoe who smashed the perfect six sixes against Hall Bower while notching 77 in just 24 balls.

One late withdrawal for Golcar side is James Sykes, who has picked up an injury and is replaced by Dan Woodhead.

Golcar: Steve Whitwam (capt), Mark Wilson (wkt), Craig Horner, James Howson, Craig Ruscoe, Eddie Wilson, Jack McNamara, Dan Woodhead, Will Hinchliffe, Lee Baxter, Mick Illingworth.

Kirkburton: (from): Matt Garrety (capt), George Smith (wkt), Matthew Wood, Greg Buckley, Ryan Robinson, Oliver Davidson, Andy Smith, Ashley Smith, Ben Jebson, Tom Burkinshaw, Richard Kettlewell, Josh Ingham.

Umpires: Andrew Wray, Dave Copping.