HONLEY skipper Simon England and Chris Woodhead ran amok against Thongsbridge as both men blasted tons in a 253-run stand for the second wicket.

Honley’s Second string are now the only unbeaten team in the entire Drakes League and with a massive 31-point lead at the top of the Championship Two table are destined to go back into the top flight at the first attempt after being harshly relegated last season.

After losing Jimmy Green for just four, England was joined by Woodhead as they blasted their way to 263 before Woodhead fell for 128.

England carried his bat for an unbeaten 121 as the innings closed on 273-3 from just 33 overs.

In reply Thongsbridge limped along to 85-8 in 33 overs – and no points!

Slaithwaite still head the Premiership Two table despite playing only one over in a rain-wrecked game against Skelmanthorpe.

Remarkably, that was one of only four games which failed to complete in the whole of the Second Eleven programme.

Scholes moved up to third after beating Broad Oak by four wickets, Chris Lawson (81) and Ash Pamment (53no) seeing them safely through after Josh Brook had taken four for 29, while Shepley beat Barkisland thanks to an inspired performance from Rob Denton.

Struggling at 46-5, Denton staged a last-ditch recovery with a half-century, backed up by Chris Cox (35) and Dave Gill (41no) as Shepley rallied to 213-8.

Denton then claimed four for 26 as Barkisland were bowled out for 176.

Liam Rothery made 82 in Golcar’s four-wicket win over Meltham, while at Riley Lane, Kirkburton scuttled Marsden for 67, Rob Kettlewell, Gavin Smith and Matthew Crookes all taking three wickets apiece.

In the Championship Two, Adam Robshaw (78) and Toby Booth (31) put on exactly 100 for the first wicket for Lascelles Hall, but after they both fell (the former hitting his own wicket), the rest tumbled quickly to 171-9, Micklehurst’s Sean Quarmby taking four for 26.

But it proved too many for the visitors as Harvey Booth claimed four for 17 to send Micklehurst back for 86.

Holmfirth made huge efforts to get their ground fit for the game against Kirkheaton, but failed to gain any reward as they lost by 47 after the visitors had made 169-8, Muhammed Mahroof top-scoring with an unbeaten 48.

Joe Dunstan top-scored with 61 for Lepton Highlanders, but couldn’t quite get his side over the finishing line at Conference Two leaders Cawthorne, who made 215-6, John Morgan scoring 58 and 49 from Corey Roebuck.

Ashley Thompson had a useful game for Clayton West, picking up three wickets in Shelley’s 113 all out total and then scoring 47 in the four-wicket win.


Golcar 147-6 (L Rothery 82, U Ali 36; J Boyd 3-25) Meltham 146-8 (J Boyd 36, B Boothroyd 27no; C Chapman 3-25.

Kirkburton 72-2 (Rich Kettlewell 37no) Marsden 67 (Rob Kettlewell 3-23, Gav Smith 3-10, M Crookes 3-16).

Armitage Bridge v Elland. No play, rain.

Slaithwaite 4-0 v Skelmanthorpe. RSP.

Delph & Dobcross v Emley Clarence. No play, rain.

Barkisland 176 (B Birkhead 40, D Weston 35, S Oddy 31; R Denton 4-26) Shepley 213-8 (R Denton 50, D Gill 41no, C Cox 35, S Haigh 28; D Sykes 3-15)

Scholes 174-6 (C Lawson 81, A Pamment 53no, P Birkhead 27; C Baxter 3-30) Broad Oak 173-7 (S Burluraux 50, C Baxter 48; J Brook 4-29).


Honley 273-3 (C Woodhead 128, S England 121no) Thongsbridge 85-8 (T Parr 29).

Holmfirth 122-9 (B Thornton 29; T Gledhill 4-30) Kirkheaton 169-8 (M Mahroof 48no, S Sarwar 31, M Ahmed 28; M Heppinstall 4-37).

Lascelles Hall 171-9 (A Robshaw 78, T Booth 31; S Quarmby 4-26) Micklehurst 86 (J McCabe 25; H Booth 4-17).

Hall Bower v Cawthorne. No play rain.


Cawthorne 215-6 (J Morgan 58, C Roebuck 49, W Mott 33, R Nicholson 31; M Singh 3-51) Lepton 199 (J Dunstan 61, T Lyons 36, P Baxter 33no; R Schofield 3-28, A Kaye 3-30).

Linthwaite 212-7 (J Fernyhough 69, M Liaqat 52, J Barber 44) Rastrick 179-6 (J Ghani 44, J Anderson 37, K Butt 35; L Renwick 3-45).

Paddock 175-8 (T Shah 54, D Wood 32no, M Turner 31, S Nawaz 26) Almondbury 174-5 (M Sarfraz 38, C Harris 36, M Earnshaw 31no, D Russell 26).

Clayton West 114-6 (A Thompson 47) Shelley 113 (R Murfin 45; A Thompson 3-34) Only 10 men.