Clubs have voted against reducing the Drakes Premiership from 14 clubs to 12 next season.

The proposal was made to reduce the number of Sunday fixtures and also to bring the District League in line with other top cricket competitions.

It was noted that some clubs had recently fielded only nine men in Sunday games and, on other occasions, matches had been forfeited.

But clubs voted 28-12 against having a 12-team top division when results were revealed at last night’s annual meeting at Almondbury CC.

Clubs also voted against the 14 second XIs in Premiership Two playing just 22 league games.

It was felt this would alleviate problems of playing league cricket on days other than Saturday, but the clubs voted 21-19 against (any rule amendmend needs a two-thirds majority to be voted through).

All first XI matches in future must be started with a new ball – that proposal was voted through 33-3 in favour.

Clubs rejected, on Executive advice, the proposal to reduce all second XI cricket to 40 overs, just one year after the reduction to 45.

The vote was 29-12 against.

A change to the Sykes Cup and Paddock Shield competitions was approved 39-2.

It means only first XIs will be allowed in the senior competition, sponsored by All Rounder and won last season by Scholes, while only second XIs will compete in the Fired Up Paddock Shield.

This follows the appearance last summer of Associate member, Edgerton & Dalton First team, in the Paddock Shield final, where they were beaten in a thriller by Kirkburton Seconds.

Two proposed rule amendments had clubs in favour, but not enough to make them law.

A proposal to double the fine for non-attendance at meetings to £10 had 27 clubs in favour and 14 against, failing by just one vote to make the two thirds majority necessary.

And the suggestion to have all 50-over games in April starting at 12.30pm, in order to give more time for the chance of completion, received 22 votes for and 14 against – again not enough for it to be introduced.

Two other proposals on start times – one for Noon all through the season and one for 45-over matches to start at 1.30 from April to August – were rejected by the clubs.

Clubs voted in favour of having advertising on the sleeves of cricket shirts (32-9) and to have further advertising in line with the ECB first-class competitions (39-2). This should help clubs increase their revenues.

A former member of the League Executive and Administration Secretary, Phillip Earnshaw, has passed away.

He played with Kirkheaton CC and, in 2006, was awarded the league’s highest honour for long and outstanding service, the FR Stallard Trophy.