THE Subscription Cup battle has a familiar look approaching the holiday break with Thongsbridge holding a five-point lead over reigning champions Netherton Con.

They appear to have the honours between them, probably resolving who finishes top when they clash on September 17.

Canalside Sports and Newsome WMC still lead in the Drayton Cup but Rastrick BC and Linthwaite CBC are close behind with a game in hand.

Crosland Moor BC B have a substantial lead in the Littlewood Cup but second-placed Linthwaite Hall have a game in hand and they have also still to play each other.

The eight-man Binns Cup is proving very interesting this year. Lindley BC B and Jackson Bridge lead matters but the chasing pack all have a game in hand.

Hill Crest are again running their Open Pairs competition sponsored by Grosvenors Butchers and Caterers.

The total prize fund has been increased to £1,640, with the winners picking up £500, making the event one of the most prestigious on the open circuit.

The standard of entry is very high with five previous winners in the field. There are also four Classic winners taking part.

The first heat is on Saturday (6.30) with the draw being done on the green. The first night includes the 2009 winners Mel Gilbert and Ian Holden.

Field: J Ollerenshaw/R Whitham (Huddersfield), M Skwarek/D Helmsley (Oxenhope), G Foulkes/S Sigsworth (Leeds), S Forster/R Senior (Lindley), I Holden/M Gilbert (Todmorden), P Haigh/Partner (Crossroads), M Bastow/V Abel (Skipton), S McDonald/L Buxton Jnr (Keighley).