PRELIMINARIES in the Liberal League’s John Carstairs Memorial Mixed Pairs will be played at four venues tomorrow (6.30 start, scratching 6.45 and then when called).

It’s bowl down to two at each venue in the event, which is sponsored by Primrose Hill Lib, who will stage the final on Sunday, July 31 (2.00).

The winners get £120 from a prize pot of £300.

Last year’s winners John Baker and Hayley Abbott, from Meltham Lib, take on Almondbury mother and son pairing Yvonne and Andrew Heaume the first round at Crosland Moor. Draw:


Preliminary round – G McMahon and Partner (Linthwaite CBC) v A Rothery and G Rothery (Golcar Lib), A Wike and Partner (Almondbury Lib) v J Hollingworth and S Smith (Marsh LIb), G Martin and Partner (Almondbury Lib) v S Parkin and P Haynes (Almondbury Lib), J Robson and G Whitehouse (Marsh Lib) v T Hopkin and L Fellas (Milnsbridge Lib).


Preliminary round – W Smith and R Parish (Marsh Lib) v B Milton and D Frost (Crosland Moor), J Bennett and N Bennett (Golcar Lib) v S Gibson and B Gibson (Meltham Lib), D Reynolds and B Shaw (Milnsbridge Lib) v M Cooper and E I Smith (Marsh Lib), J Sykes and P Hopkinson (Lindley Lib) v J Armitage and M Armitage (Linthwaite CBC).


Preliminary round – E Smith and D Iredale (Cowcliffe Lib) v A Tattersley and Partner (Almondbury Lib), A Earnshaw and A McNeil (Kirkheaton CBC) v E Beaumont and W Langner (Almondbury Lib), J Carroll and T Chatfield (Golcar Lib) v R Pillaney and M Brierley (Cowcliffe Lib), K Whitefoot and A Byrnes (Milnsbridge Lib) v J Ainley and C Longbottom (Marsh Lib).


Preliminary round – D and T Balderson (Linthwaite CBC) v D J Balderson and D Fowler (Linthwaite), I Crowther and A Lawton (Meltham Lib) v M Stead and P McDonagh (Cowcliffe Lib), J Murphy and J Murphy (Golcar Lib) v S Rabone and C Hey (Crosland Moor), Y Heaume and A Heaume (Almondbury Lib) v H Abbott and J Baker (Meltham Lib).