ROBERT HITCHEN, of Lower Hopton, won the Mirfield Merit title in a close final against Netherton Con’s Jack Dyson.

The two stars proved the best of a strong field and Hitchen emerged a 21-19 victor in the final at Thorpe Green.

Hitchen defeated Nigel Cranston (Crossgates) 14 in the semi-finals while Dyson went through 21-17 against Andrew Heaume of Almondbury.

Earlier in the day, Bentley and Gill of Cleckheaton won a fantastic final of the Mirfield Pairs 21-20 against Seerha and Walder, of Spen Vic, at Milnsbridge BC.

Merit first round – Richard Bentley (Cleckheaton) 21 Mark Bramall (Mirfield) 12, Nigel Cranston (Crossgates) 21 Andrew Sykes (Mirfield) 19, Robert Hitchen (Lower Hopton) 21 Lee Schofield (Dodworth) 14, Jon Wilcox (Crossgates) 17 Mark Regan (Brighouse) 21, Robert Dunford (Morton House) 21 Paul Gill (Cleckheaton) 19, Jack Dyson (Netherton) 21 Dave Fox (Kirkheaton) 17, Anton Haigh (Penistone) 9 Peter Senior (Spen Vic) 21, Andrew Heaume (Almondbury) 21 Martin Cross (Ossett CAC) 6.

Quarter-finals – Bentley 17 Cranston 21, Hitchen 21 Regan 19, Dunford 11 Dyson 21, Senior 17 Heaume 21.

Semi-finals – Cranston 14 Hitchen 21, Dyson 21 Heaume 17.

Final – Hitchen 21 Dyson 19.

Pairs quarter-finals – Douglas and Heaume (Almondbury) 13 Seerha and Walder (Spen) 21, Cowsill and Normanton (Alverthorpe) 21 Nicholsons (Hopton) 18, Daykin and McMahon (Netherton) 21 Briggs and Morris (H Heaton) 13, Carter and Oldfield (Cowcliffe) 18 Bentley and Gill (Cleckheaton) 21.

Semi-finals – Seerha and Walder 21 Cowsill and Normanton 10, Daykin and McMahon 17 Bentley and Gill 21.

Final – Seerha and Walder 20 Bentley and Gill 21.

The next rounds of the Ladies Sanderson and Nunns Cups will be played in the week starting August 8.

Sanderson fourth round – Kirkheaton CBC A v Lockwood Con A at Golcar CBC (Monday), Outlane A v Mirfield at Milnsbridge Lib (Tues), Mirfield Old Bank v New Mill B at Almondbury BC (Thurs), Thongsbridge B v Marsh Utd at Kirkheaton CBC (Thurs).

Nunns third round – Marsh Lib A v Thongsbridge A at New Mill (Monday), Linthwaite CBC B v Skelmanthorpe at Grange Moor (Mon), Netherton Con B v Cowcliffe B at Jackson Bridge (Tues), Canalside B v Jackson Bridge at Paddock BC (Friday).