THE Huddersfield Junior Crown Green Bowls Association will be celebrating their 20th anniversary next year.

Juniors gathered for this season’s presentation night – attendance was 210 – at the Irish Centre to congratulate all those who have contributed to a successful 2012 campaign and look ahead to the future.

Penistone A, captained by Jack Wareing, won the Junior League title – the Tommy Wilson Memorial Cup – for a record fifth successive year, while the Dennis Bradley Memorial Shield for Division II went to Almondbury Lib, captained by Ashton Allert, who were undefeated.

On the Association’s flourishing prospects, secretary Geoff Martin said: “In my wildest dreams I never envisaged that this project would last so long and be so successful.

“Thanks to everybody, both past and present, for their help and support in the continuation and development of junior bowling in Huddersfield and especially to all our sponsors, whose backing is invaluable.”

Over £1,500 in prizes were handed out and trophies were presented by Mr Martin, competitions secretary Kevin Walsh and the various sponsors.

Jack Humpleby of Shepley and Fern Beaumont of Broad Oak were voted the best players boy and girl players in Division I (by other players and managers) while the Division II awards went to Ben Beaumont (Broad Oak) and Lily Hesling (Brockholes).

In the Inter-District averages, sponsored by Judith Hick, Thomas Holmes of Newsome WMC took the Huddersfield A team award with 4.71, while Ashley Battye of Almondbury Lib was most successful for the Huddersfield C team with 7.29. The B and D team averages went to Danny Kilburn (Kirkheaton Con) and Mason Hill (Broad Oak) respectively.

Anton Haigh of Penistone won the Over15/Under 21 Merit sponsored by Peter Thornton, while Ellis Owen (Castleford Town) received the Girls Under 18 Handicap trophy, jointly sponsored by Dennis Hawes and the Huddersfield Ladies Bowling Association.

Newsome’s Aimee Holmes collected the Peter Shaw Memorial Under 16 Girls Merit silverware, sponsored by Alan and Patricia Stephenson, while the Harry Haigh Memorial Boys Merit, sponsored by Julie Haigh, went to Patrick Higgins of Kirkheaton Con A.

The Jonathan Sykes Under 18 Boys Merit was won by Jack Chesswas of Brockholes, while the Fair Play trophy went to Alex Haigh of Newsome, who also collected the Peter Firth Memorial Under 16 Handicap sponsored by Glenis Firth.

Honoured in Division I, Fern Beaumont also took the Hemplow Under 14 Singles Handicap, sponsored by Marsden Enhancement Committee, while Nathan Haigh (Kirkheaton Con) and Jack Chesswas (Brockholes) took home the Norma Haigh Under 16 Charity Pairs, backed by Terry Haigh and Kevin and Christine Walsh.

The Wrathall Trophy (Under 18 Singles Handicap sponsored by Frank and Jean Wrathall) went to Courtney Allert of Almondbury Lib.

Top Division I player Humpleby won the Steve Batler Memorial Cup, sponsored by Chris Batler and The Ken Davy Fund, while the Huddersfield Junior Team Knockout Cup (backed by Stephen Halsall and Canalside) went to Broad Oak A, captained by Melissa Hoyle.

Highest break prizes, sponsored by Harold Hick, went to Aimee Holmes of Newsome WMC (U16 Girls Merit), Harry Lumb of Kirkheaton Con (U16 Boys Merit) and Alex Haigh of Newsome (U18 Junior Merit).

Other sponsors include Frank Greenwood, Mick Catherine of CNC Mill Turn Solutions, Howard Rose of Roses Cleaning Services, Huddersfield Veterans Association, Examiner Community Fund, Calderdale Community Fund, Richard Armitage.

Secretary Martin added: “We must also thank Yorkshire CGBA for organising great junior competitions and encouraging young players at all stages of their careers, and the county Referees Association for staffing the matches.

“The Huddersfield junior committee are a great bunch, who are dedicated to the advancement of junior bowling in the town, while the main Association should be praised for allowing and supporting our juniors in their leagues and competitions. We are also fortunate to have the help of Sheila Whiteley on child protection matters.”

Junior president Graham Radcliffe thanked the youngsters for representing their clubs, town and county in a sporting and good mannered way and added his thanks to the sponsors, wishing the Association many more years of success.