HUDDERSFIELD Inter-District veterans bid to retain their Yorkshire Inter-District League crown when they begin their defence against Skipton on Friday, May 2 (1.30).

Huddersfield are aiming to stretch their unprecedented hat trick to four titles after claiming last year’s honours by a huge 49-point margin from West Riding.

The home team against Skipton, who finished fourth, have selected Lindley BC, to host their opening match, while the away team travel to Silsden Playing Fields.

Selectors have stood by the side who were so successful at the end of last season, while calling up Bob Frith (home reserve) and Elland’s Vince Smith (away reserve), into the squad.

At Lindley: Brian Starkey, Gordon Cowgill, Frank Greenwood, Jack Hewitt, Harry Pennington, Trevor Sykes (cpt), Ronnie Norcliffe, Roy Sutton. Reserve: Bob Frith. Manager: John Wilde.

At Silsden PF: Dennis Hirst, Roy Tipple, Barry Nicholl, Donald Crowther, Frank Griffin, Mick McCluskey, John Shaw, Eddie Haigh. Reserve: Vince Smith. Manager: Bernard Jones.

Before the Silsden match, however, both teams will warm up with a friendly against each other next Wednesday at Lindley BC, with spectators welcome and refreshments available (2.00).

Entries are being taken by Veterans League officials for players to compete in the Veterans Lower Division (LD) Trophy.

This new competition was introduced last year and is designed to give players in the lower divisions a chance to win a trophy.

Competitors who can enter this event are players bowling in Sections 4 and 5 of the 10-man league and everyone from the 6-man team section who have not played four or more games in teams in Sections 1, 2 or 3.

The closing date is May 24 and entry fee is £1 as is all other competitions except the Rosebowl which is £1.50.

The Jack Pearson-sponsored Huddersfield Veterans League looks like being a keenly-fought competition this season.

10-MAN LEAGUE Section I – Lockwood Con 7 Newsome WMC 2, Waterloo A 6 Meltham A 3, Milnsbridge A 8 Kirkheaton A 1, Clayton West 2 Marsh U A 7, Golcar Lib A 8 Syngenta A 1, Elland CBC A 5 Lindley Lib A 4.

Section II – Almondbury BC 9 Brockholes A 0, Shepley 7 Paddock IC 2, Springwood 3 Netherton Con A 6, Rastrick 7 Marsden Park 2, Thongsbridge A 3 Crosland Moor 6, Bradley and Colne 8 Golcar Lib B 1.

Section III – Mirfield B 2 Cowcliffe 7, Thorpe Green A 7 Moldgreen Con 2, Hudds RUFC 2 Mirfield A 7, Linthwaite Hall 5 Ravensknowle Park A 4, Lindley Lib B 6 Broad Oak 3, Syngenta B 7 New Mill A 2.

Section IV– Kirkheaton B 5 Waterloo B 4, Brockholes B 7 Hillhouse and Birkby 2, Primrose Hill Lib 3 Almondbury BC B 6, Marsh Lib 1 Holmfirth 8, David Brown Spts 3 Thongsbridge B 6.

Section V – Netherton Con B 6 Thorpe Green B 3, Lowerhouses 2 Milnsbridge B 7, Meltham B 7 Greenhead Park 2, New Mill B 6 Elland CBC B 3, Outlane 9 Lindley BC 0.

SIX-MAN LEAGUE Section A – Lindley Lib 5 Thongsbridge A 2, Syngenta 7 Meltham 0, Holmfirth 6 Slaithwaite 1, Shepley 5 Clayton West 2, Almondbury Lib 6 Newsome WMC 1.

Section B – Paddock IC 6 Brockholes 1, Greenhead 2 Skelmanthorpe 5, Crosland Moor 6 Golcar Lib 1, New Mill 0 Broad Oak 7.

Qualifying for the Huddersfield Bowling Association’s A and S Hirst Four Pairs Team Knockout takes place on Sunday (2.00).

Players bowl down to one team at each of the following venues except at Moldgreen Con, where the final two teams go through.

Matches consist of one pairs and two singles and are played off Huddersfield handicaps.

Crosland Moor – Lockwood Con C v Netherton Con C, Lindley Lib v Moldgreen Con.

Lockwood Con – Linthwaite C&B A v Slaithwaite C, Moldgreen Con B v Crosland Moor A.

Marsh United – Lockwood Con B v Linthwaite C&B C, Milnsbridge BC B v Slaithwaite B

Milnsbridge BC – Linthwaite Hall v Lockwood Con A, Milnsbridge Lib A v Golcar Lib

Milnsbridge Lib – Milnsbridge BC A v Netherton Con A, Marsh United A v Marsh United B.

Moldgreen Con – Linthwaite C&B B v Netherton Con B, Milnsbridge Lib B v Crosland Moor B.

Netherton Con – Meltham v Slaithwaite A.

Results from the first week of play in the BAPP Industrial Supplies Colne Valley Bowling League:

Premier Cup: Moldgreen Con 3 Slaithwaite CBC 7, Lockwood Con 7 Linthwaite Hall 3, Meltham BC 2 Crosland Moor 8, Golcar Lib 1 Longwood BC 9.

Hamilton Cup: Broad Oak BC 5 Linthwaite CBC 5, Milnsbridge BC 3 Hemplow BC 7, Thorpe Green 8 Syngenta 2, Longwood BC B 6 Crosland Moor B 4.

Radley Cup: Newsome WMC 8 Thongsbridge CBC 2, Lockwood Con B 1 Lowerhouses 9, Milnsbridge BC B 8 Bradley & Colne 2, Lindley Lib 5 Golcar Lib B 5.

Shaw Cup: Broad Oak BC B 6 HRUFC BC 4, Meltham BC B 3 Milnsbridge Lib 7, Hemplow BC B 4 Slaithwaite CBC B 6, Marsh Lib 2 Paddock IC 8.

Hanson Cup: Marsden Park 7 Skelmanthorpe Central 3, Dalton BC 6 Hillhouse & Birkby 4, Syngenta B 3 Brockholes BC 7, Hemplow BC C 3 Golcar CAC 7.