BEN KELLETT (VS Cycles) narrowly missed out on a win in the Wakefield CC Evening Road Race.

A breakaway of four riders, including Kellett, raced clear on the first lap of the 55km event for second, third and fourth category riders on the New Sharlston course.

Kellett, and winner Christopher Mark (Velo 29), were side by side coming up to the line, but Mark had the stronger sprint finish and crossed the line arms aloft.

Rounds seven and eight of the Yorkshire Points Summer Cyclo-Cross Series took place at Brooksbank School, Elland, and Brigshaw High School, Kippax.

After missing the previous two rounds it was a return to winning ways for Lewis Byram (Holme Valley Wheelers) at Brooksbank in the Under 14 race, as he finished seven seconds ahead of clubmate Amira Mellor.

Kirklees Cycling Academy rider Mason Hollyman was an impressive fourth place, up against much older competitors.

Tom Whitworth was the first Huddersfield Road Club rider in 27th and Ruby Boyes was first of the Huddersfield Star Wheelers in 45th.

Over 100 riders lined up for the start of the Over 14 race and it was close affair with Jack Clarkson (Pedalsport) beating Ian Taylor (Craven Energy Tri/Jedi Cyclesport) by only eight seconds.

Holme Valley Wheeler Richard Binks had one of his best Cyclo-Cross results of the season in third place.

Andy Whitworth (Huddersfield RC) was 21st, getting the better of clubmate Owen Mitton who finished in 25th.

Best of the Star Wheelers was Ivan Boyes in 38th ahead of Graham Piccavey in 41st.

The Under 14 race at Kippax was on a more technical course, including a BMX track and a long jump sand pit for the riders to negotiate.

Edward Fletcher (Cairngorm CC) was first over the line and the best local rider was Jack Ford (Holme Valley Wheelers) in seventh.

In the senior race Jack Clarkson was a class above the 45 other riders, winning from Simon Maudsley (Crosstrax) and Tom Stockill (Malton Wheelers).

Graham Piccavey was the best local finisher in 19th, followed by clubmate Ivan Boyes in 20th.

Holme Valley Wheelers’ 10-mile Time Trial League reached round 11 and Tom Broadbent (Huddersfield Star Wheelers) got a new personal best for the Sovereign course by clocking 22min 42sec – 90 seconds faster than second-placed Richard Anderson from the promoting club.

Ben Kellett is leading the overall standings from Holme Valley Wheelers’ Steve Robinson and Chris Harris, with Broadbent in fourth.

Rachael Mellor (Holme Valley Wheelers) is leading the women’s competition with clubmate Leon Taylor-Woodhouse topping the junior standings.