MELTHAM reversed last year’s result in the Halifax, Huddersfield Union’s Scratch Team Championship by pipping Huddersfield to the Founders Trophy, sponsored by Woodsome’s John Eyre.

Twelve months ago, Meltham had to play second fiddle to Huddersfield, but led by their English National Schools champion Jamie Bower with rounds of 71 and 72, they lifted the trophy after finishing four shots clear of their Fixby counterparts.

Although the sun shone throughout at the Halifax course, low scoring was not easy in the tricky wind around Ogden, but young Bower was well backed up by his three teammates, Union team manager Chris Mear and Graham McLean who each had a 36-hole total of 150, with Sam Davies a point further back on 151 for an overall tally of 594.

Richard Broadley (like Bower, the only plus one handicapper in the field) led Huddersfield’s title defence with rounds of 70 and 73, Neil Williams totalling 150, Charles Webb with equal halves of 76 and Andy Shaw on 153.

There were no other teams among the 14 participants who managed to break 600, with Halifax Bradley Hall well behind in third spot on 605.

Woodsome Hall’s Chris Dyson won the Individual Gross prize for two excellent equal rounds of 70, while Longley Park’s Matthew Colcombe had the best gross score in the first round with a 69, while Dewsbury District’s Ben Crowther had a 71 in the afternoon to win the second round gross prize.

Leading scores from the Scratch Team Championship:

1 Meltham 594 (Jamie Bower 143, Chris Mear 150, Graham McLean 150, Sam Davies 151).

2 Huddersfield 598 (Richard Broadley 143, Neil Williams 150, Charles Webb 152, Andy Shaw 153).

3 Halifax Bradley Hall 605 (Andy Whitworth 144, Martin Cockroft 150, Andy Appleyard 155, Andy Hare 156).

4 West End (Halifax) 611 (Steve Martin 147, Dave Stafford 153, Frank Greaves 155, Chris Ingham 156).

5 Halifax 612 Mark Birkett 145, Jamie Smith 154, Clive Crawshaw 154, Darren Davison 159.

6 Dewsbury District 623 Jason Smith 149, Ben Crowther 154, Chris Gaunt 155, Craig Darbyshire 165.

7 Woodsome Hall 638 Chris Dyson 140, Adam Cryer 152, Ian Lawson 172, Tom Jenkinson 174.

8 Crosland Heath 638 Toby Garrett 147, Lewis Collier 158, Luke Pilkington 164, John Woodhead 169.