NICK MARSH had no time to celebrate winning the Halifax, Huddersfield Golf Union’s Junior Strokeplay Championship at a soggy Saddleworth.

For the Elland teenager, who won the Lightcliffe Tankard, had to shoot off even before the presentation to prepare for a tournament in Dorset.

The plus one handicapper became Junior champion with a gross score of 73, to finish one ahead of Woodsome Hall’s Tom Goodaire.

Sadly neither player are able to contest the Matchplay stage (for the top eight finishers) which starts tonight at Lightcliffe and Ryburn, with Marsh in Dorset and Goodaire on holiday.

Matthew Hartley, of Willow Valley won the Lightcliffe Trophy for the best nett round with a 68, two clear of Crow Nest Park’s Jake Campbell, who is one of the two beneficiaries to get into the Matchplay stage because of the absence of the top two.

Tonight’s draw and venues (tee off from 5.30pm) are:

Lightcliffe – Brad Hardcastle (West End) v Ben Kaye (Bradley Park), Ethan Shaw (Marsden) v Gary Moolman (Huddersfield).

Ryburn – Jamie Smith (Halifax) v Jake Campbell (Crow Nest Park), Danny Lyness (Saddleworth) v Josh Morton (Hanging Heaton).

The semi-finals will be held next Monday (July 25) at Marsden, with the final scheduled for Bradley Park on September 25.

Leading scores in the Strokeplay (sponsored by TW Birks) were:

1 Nick Marsh (Elland, +1) 73; 2 Tom Goodaire (Woodsome Hall, 2) 74; 3 Brad Hardcastle (Halifax West End, 4) 75; 4 Jamie Smith (Halifax, 3) 75; 5 Danny Lyness (Saddleworth, 5) 75; 6 Ethan Shaw (Marsden, 3) 77; 7 Gary Moolman (Huddersfield, 6) 78; 8 Josh Morton (Hanging Heaton, 8) 79; 9 Jake Campbell (Crow Nest Park, 11) 81; 10 Ben Kaye (Bradley Park, 7) 82.

Wednesday Society captain John Sheard held his Captain’s Day at his Bradley Park club which was won by Outlane’s Neil Smith with 43 points.

The Division I prize went to Crosland Heath’s Alan Taylor, while Elland’s Barry Isles won Division II.

The next meeting is at Dewsbury tomorrow. Results:

Captain’s prize: Neil Smith (Outlane) 13-43.

Div I: Alan Taylor (Crosland Heath) 11-37; S Howe (Woodsome Hall) 15-37; Chris Holmes (Meltham) 7-37.

Div II: Barry Isles (Elland) 21-40; Alan Arrowsmith (Outlane) 16-38; Alan Harper (Marsden) 18-36.