MATTHEW PIERSON of Holmfirth Harriers won the Joe Percy 10K with a time of 33 minutes 20 seconds.

The event was staged by Longwood Harriers, the invitational team race which was launched in 1993, runs from Thurstonland Cricket Club to Farnley Tyas and back.

Halifax Harriers won the team prize for the fourth year running, fielding and impressive 59 runners.

Longwood Harriers still hold the record in winning the trophy five years in a row while Holmfirth hold the record for winning the most times – seven.

Longwood results: 18 Donald Kennedy 37min 38sec (1st M45), 68 Ian Mitchell 42-10 (1st M60), 104 Alan Cole 44-22, 106 Claire Pickersgill 44-26, 144 Robert Morris 46-22 (Youngest runner and first 10k), 192 Brigit Walsh 50-44, 201 Karen Mitchell 51-42, 202 James Scholes 51-43, 265 Richard Walsh 58-37.